Posted by: morgan1965 | September 5, 2009

Gratitude and Thanksgiving

I have been thinking about gratitude and thanksgiving since my recent hospitalization, and during this time of recuperation. All of us have much to be thankful for during the course of our daily living. Our personal gratitude and thanksgiving are dynamics that one has to think about and ponder, less one forgets to give thanks or express gratitude.

I am grateful to God for God’s presence with me before, during and after my recent hospital stay. God’s healing hand comforted me in the midst of illness and guided me out of the valley of illness to a place of healing and renewal of strength.

When I reflect on my hospital stay, I am grateful to the medical / surgical team that has wrought healing in my body. I am most thankful for all of the nurses who cared for me, both day and night. Also, there were a number of other technicians and staff who aided in my recovery. My gratitude is extended to all of them, ten times over.

My dear wife, Eleanor, has been a rich blessing to me during this time. I am thankful for her love and abiding care. My two sons, Eric and Erwyn, have been right by my side, encouraging and caring for me. I am eternally grateful for the gift of a loving family and a host of friends who have manifested their love and concern.

The West Virginia Conference family has been so very kind to me. I am thankful for all of the prayers, words of encouragement, text messages, e-mails and genuine concern.

Today, I praise God from whom all of our blessings come. I thank God for the gift of gratitude which makes me so happy. So, when you hear me singing it is because I am happy!

Thank you!!!

Responses

  1. I’m thankful for those who cared for you, using their God-given gifts for healing. Also thankful for your continued recovery and will keep you and your family in prayer. Sing on!

  2. Bishop,
    It is great to hear from you on your blog. I hope your time of recovery continues to go well and I look forward to you being back completely!! I too give thanks for all those who are caring for you!

    peace,

    scott

  3. Bishop, I am so glad you ae “on the mend.” I would not want you to miss the opportunity to take your ordinands to the Holy Land. What a rich experience that will be. I appreciate your leadership inb our conference and look forward to seeing you somewhere along the journey. You are a real “gift” to our Conference.

  4. Bishop Lyght,
    One more gift that i would encourage you to rejoice and partake in is God’s gift of rest. I think our culture rushes things in this area. I give thanks to God for your leadership, your presence with us, and your encouragement i all things.

    blessings,
    kathi


Leave a Reply

Categories

