Posted by: morgan1965 | December 20, 2009

It is Snowing Today

A few weeks ago, when I was in Zimbabwe, I heard the recording, “I’m Dreaming of a White Christmas.” Now there is little chance the folk in Harare, Zimbabwe will experience a white Christmas. Oh yes, it is summer time there. The hotel, of course, was simply playing a repertoire of Christmas music, mostly from western culture.

Today, Saturday, is a very snowy day in West Virginia and much of the East coast. The snow fell in Charleston most of the day. We heard reports about motorist who were stranded on the highways as they tried to complete their journey. Some people are without electrical power. I hope that their power is soon restored, because we depend on electricity for so many things.

The snow is heavy and white. It creates a rather picturesque scene as we look out the window into our back yard. The snow clings to the trees. At least four tall, slender trees fell in our back yard area. Fortunately, no damage was done to the house.

A snowy Saturday is a perfect day to be at home. I have had the opportunity to read, watch some television, address Christmas cards, and do a few household chores. Now that is my kind of day. Wow, there were no meetings to attend. Well, any meeting would have been canceled anyway. We can’t get out of our driveway yet. Well, there is no hurry at this point.

By the way, I have not had a cup of hot chocolate yet, but I promise to get that in before the day is ended. That is a must; isn’t it?

It looks like some of us will have a white Christmas. [Not in Zimbabwe.] I admit that by Christmas day, the remaining snow might not be so white. Right now, however, the snow is beautiful to the eye.

When it snows, I am reminded of Robert Frost’s poem, “Stopping by Woods on a Snowy Evening.” The first verse is reflective of my feelings today:

Whose woods these are I think I know.
His house is in the village though;
He will not see me stopping here
To watch his woods fill up with snow.

Even though it has been a wonderful day, I am mindful that there are many folk who have had some difficult experiences because of the snowy weather. My prayer is that all of us might have the opportunity to watch God’s earth be covered with snow.

Responses

  1. Thank you for the reflection. I missed out on the hot chocolate that day!! Have plans for plenty on the 25th — snow or no snow!


Leave a Reply

Categories

