Posted by: morgan1965 | October 2, 2010

Let Pastors Know of Our Appreciation – Yes!

Ministry, among other things, is about relationships. Our primary relationship is the relationship that we have with God, who created us and sustains us. The next most important dynamic is the relationship that we have with each other – friend, spouse, colleague, brother, sister, cousin, colleague, and neighbor.

Although I grew up in a Methodist parsonage, I had two pastors, other than my father, during the years that he served as a district superintendent. I remember these pastors very well. What I remember most is the relationship that these two pastors had with the young people. They cared about us and enabled us to participate in the life of the congregation. They affirmed us and encouraged us.

October is Pastors’ Appreciation Month; it is a time when we pause to say thank you and to celebrate the ministry of our pastors.

I celebrate the pastoral ministry and the affirmation that I received from my two pastors mentioned above – Pastor Moody and Pastor McKinney.

My father was my pastor too, and, his life and ministry were a significant influence on my saying yes to the call of ordained ministry. I am grateful for the positive relationship that I had with my pastor and father. He was a mentor, teacher and encourager. He exemplified the best in Christian preaching. He helped me to become a faithful disciple of Jesus Christ.

Let me encourage you to pause and think for a moment about the pastors who have been a part of your life. Have you ever said thank you for their presence in your life? Whatever is your answer now is a good time to pause and let your current pastor know that you appreciate him or her. You can send an appreciation note or you can express your appreciation in person to your pastor. Let your pastor know that you do not take him/her for grant it.

I also want to express my personal appreciation to all of the pastors in the West Virginia Annual Conference of the United Methodist Church. Thank you! Thank you for who you are and what you do with the people known as United Methodist under your pastoral care.

Praise God from whom all blessings flow!

Leave a Reply

Categories

