Posted by: morgan1965 | November 24, 2010

Thanksgiving

It was a long time before I began to grasp the full meaning of Thanksgiving in a personal and mature way. As a child, Thanksgiving was a very special holiday that was observed by the family sitting down to a splendid turkey dinner. Yes, I knew something about the Pilgrims who gave thanks for new life in the new world. But, I really did not know the depths of true thanksgiving. I had to learn about God’s rich blessings – grace and mercy.

My parents, of course, always taught me to say thank you. It was understood that I should be thankful for all things that are provided for me by God. Over the years, I have thought about this more and more. My understanding now is more mature.

First, I give thanks to God for Jesus Christ, who is for me and you the way, the truth, and the life. Saying yes to Jesus has made all the difference for me.

Second, I give thanks for my family – my wife and two sons, our three grandchildren, and my three siblings. I am very grateful for my family.

Third, I give thanks to God for the opportunity and the privilege to serve as a minister in the United Methodist Church. My active ministry has spanned more than forty years. God has been with me every step of the way; and I am thankful. I only can serve as a bishop through God’s amazing grace.

Fourth, and foremost, I am thankful for each new day. The gift of life is an awesome gift. Each day, I thank God for the gift of that new day. Each day is new; it is precious; and it is special.

Gracious God, I thank you for allowing me to develop a faith that would understand the proportions of your grace and mercy. I thank you for your abundant love, and your abiding care. Hold me in your hand and lead me along the way. Most of all, I thank you for Jesus. Amen.

Responses

  1. The Bishop’s Thanksgiving letter really touched me… How we need to be grateful every day, every moment of our lives for all Christ has done for us and is doing for us! I am going to start a “Thanksgiving’ page in my journal!
    Thank you for sharing!
    Laurie


Leave a Reply

Categories

