Posted by: morgan1965 | December 26, 2010

The Day After Christmas

It is the day after Christmas and it is starting to snow. In fact, there is a huge snow storm moving up the East Coast. Many people are attempting to make their way home after celebrating Christmas Day with family and friends. The news broadcasts are reporting that numerous flights have been canceled. Will this winter season be anything like last winter in terms of the volume of snow that came during the winter season? Only time will tell us.

In the meantime, I am savoring the experience of Christmas Day yesterday. It was a day that I spent with family and friends. It was a great day. It was a day of food, fellowship and fun. More than that, however, it was a day that we celebrated because of Jesus Christ.

Dear God, we thank you for giving us Jesus, who came into the world to save us from our sins. We thank you for family and other saints who introduced us to Jesus. We thank you for the Church of Jesus Christ that continues to nurture us on this pilgrim journey. Gracious God, do not let us forget the birth of Jesus as we anticipate his resurrection. Enable us to tell the good news of Jesus Christ and “make disciples of Jesus Christ for the transformation of the world.” Amen.

Christmas Day comes and soon the Christmas Season comes to an end. The room that we have made in our lives somehow begins to disappear. Where does all of the clutter come from?

Today, on the day after Christmas, I am pondering all of the stuff/things that made life so busy during the last few days. I thought that I had made space for Jesus. Yes, I did make space for Jesus, and I am glad that Jesus reigns in my life.

I have come to the stark conclusion, however, that I must struggle daily to maintain space for Jesus in my life. I cannot allow Jesus to be pushed to the sideline. Every day of my life, I must make room for Jesus. My devotional life helps me in a big way in this regard. My prayer life makes the difference.

If it were left to me, I would sing Christmas hymns every Sunday of the year. Christmas brings joy to the world. So, Christians come together in the name of Jesus, and we go into the world, taking the name of Jesus with us.

Leave a Reply

Categories

