Posted by: morgan1965 | February 27, 2011

Happy Birthday Ms. Hill

Last Sunday, February 20, 2011, I called a dear friend and wished her a Happy Birthday. Ms. Hill celebrated her 100th birthday.

When I called Ms. Hill, it was about 8:30 P.M., but I knew that she usually stays up late in the evening. She answered the phone, and extended a warm greeting to me.

Ms. Hill had just arrived home from church where she had attended an afternoon service. By the way, she also attended the morning worship service at her church, which she customarily does every Sunday.

I have known Ms. Hill all of my life. Perhaps I should say that she has known me all of my life. She has been a friend and grandmother figure to me.

My sisters went to visit Ms. Hill on her birthday, and spent the night in her home. They told me that the next morning she got up early and did the wash and laundry. Then she prepared a scrumptious breakfast for them, and would not allow them to do anything, except to be the recipients of her hospitality.

The truth of the matter is that Ms. Hill worked, at least part-time, until she was 97 years old. She worked in the crab houses and oyster houses on Maryland’s Eastern Shore.

Happy Birthday Ms. Hill!!!

May God continue to grant you love, joy and peace for the Journey of a centenarian.

Leave a Reply

Categories

