Posted by: morgan1965 | March 5, 2011

Celebrating Women’s History Month

March is Women’s History Month, and this observance provides an opportunity to celebrate the many contributions of women in our society and our personal lives. I would like to observe Women’s History Month from a personal perspective.

I have abiding appreciation for the presence of my mother, Attrue V. Lyght, in my life. Although my mother died many years ago, her influence continues in my life. Mom chose to be a stay at home mother, so she was always present when I left home for school and came home from school. She was there to support me and encourage me in all that I was doing as a growing child and as a young adult. One thing that stands out in my memory is the time that she devoted to helping me with my school work, especially spelling. (I remember those weekly spelling lists used to prepare for the spelling tests at school.)

Mom was a great cook who enjoyed cooking, and she was inspired to see people enjoying her meals. After my sports practice at school, I looked forward to what Mom would be serving for dinner. No matter what she served for dinner, it was always very delectable. I have fond memories of mealtime in Mom’s kitchen or dining room. Some of my favorite foods were fried chicken, chicken and dumplings, and potato salad. A few favorite deserts were rice pudding, ginger bread and sweet potato pie. Mom’s yeast rolls were out of sight.

Perhaps, most of all, I remember my mother’s quiet and sweet personality. She loved her children and she encouraged each one of us. Mom was always there for us, listening and providing a caring perspective. She was devoted to her family, supporting Dad in his ministry, and setting an example of integrity for her children.

Mom had one sister, Marie, who died almost six years ago. I remember hearing some of the stories about how Mom helped her younger sister to go to college by assisting her with her tuition payments. Aunt Marie became an elementary school teacher, and she loved to tell funny stories about various experiences with the children. Most of all, she enjoyed telling childhood stories about us, her nieces and nephews. Mom believed in helping her family and friends.

So, in this Women’s History Month, I pay tribute to my mother and all the women who helped me to be the person that I am today. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

Categories

