Posted by: morgan1965 | May 24, 2011

The Rapture: God Gives Us Stars of Hope

I received a text message last weekend that said: “Is today judgment day?” I responded back that I do not know about judgment day. I further stated that no one knows the day or the hour.

The Bible does not provide for its readers any date specific about when the world as we know it will come to an end. Jesus, himself, did not give us any precise information about the end time. It is my firm belief that the God who created the universe is the God who will determine the date of the “rapture.”

Some folk believed the assertion that Saturday, May 21, 2011 would mark the end of time, the rapture. May 21st, of course, came and went without any drama.

It seems to me that Jesus wants his pilgrim disciples to live daily as faithful disciples. Charles A. Tindley helps me to understand this reality in his hymn titled, “Beams of Heaven” [Some Day]:

“Beams of heaven, as I go,
Through this wilderness below,
Guide my feet in peaceful ways,
Turn my midnights into days;
When in the darkness I would grope,
Faith always sees a star of hope,
And soon from all life’s grief and danger,
I shall be free some day”

“I do not know how long ‘twill be,
Nor what the future holds for me,
But this I know, if Jesus leads me,
I shall get home some day.” [Refrain]
(Beams of Heaven, #11)

It is important to live life to the glory of God, and leave to God that which belongs to God. We have this promise that Jesus has gone ahead to prepare a place for us.

The old Negro spiritual put it this way: “Soon – a will be done with the troubles of the world. Goin’ home to live with God.” There is hope for all of God’s children, regardless of our circumstances in life on earth. Think About it!

Leave a Reply

Categories

