Posted by: morgan1965 | November 24, 2011

Thanksgiving Day 2011 – ThinkThanks

Some years ago, I heard a preacher remind his congregation that we need to “think thanks.” This is a good reminder that too often we forget about the many blessings that God bestows upon us. It is helpful to pause and review one’s blessings, or think thanks.

I am always thankful to God for the gift of Jesus Christ. I am grateful to my parents who introduced me to Jesus and taught me about the teachings of Jesus. They always lived a Christ like life in the presence of their children. The Bible was at the center of our Christian education.

Perhaps this is a moment of nostalgia, because I soon will be entering the retired relationship. As I look back over the years, I am thankful for all of the lay people that I have been privileged to work with in the various churches. Also, I am grateful for the many clergy colleagues whom I have encountered along the way. All of these persons have been and continue to be a source of inspiration to me.

I am thankful for the opportunity given to me to serve as a local church pastor, a district superintendent and a resident bishop. God has richly blessed me in all of these endeavors. So, I thank God for God’s grace and mercy that have enabled me to be a faithful disciple of Jesus Christ while serving in a leadership capacity.

On this Thanksgiving Day, I am thankful for the opportunity to serve as the resident bishop in the West Virginia Conference. This experience continues to be a personal blessing. I so much appreciate the fervent and constant prayers of the people, lay and clergy.

I give thanks to God for the opportunity to serve with a dynamic Cabinet – nine district superintendents, a conference treasurer, a conference council director and assistant to the bishop. They have been supportive and encouraging. I appreciate too the conference staff, and my administrative assistant. Without the participation of these committed people, we could not do the well the work of ministry and mission.

Perhaps one way to summarize my sense of thanksgiving is to say that I am grateful to God for all of my family and friends, my church family and my colleagues in ministry.

Dear God, I thank you for your many blessings, and I praise your holy name. Amen!

Responses

  1. You have and are making a positive difference for clergy
    and laity of our WV Annual Conference. Your person and leadership are greatly appreciated. We are blessed! Dan Hogan


Leave a Reply

Categories

