Posted by: morgan1965 | January 1, 2012

Pondering The Beginning of a New Year

It is the last day of the year (2011) and a new year (2012) is on the horizon. As I ponder this change in calendar time, I cannot refrain from looking back at the year now ending; however, my spirit reminds me that I also must look ahead to God’s fresh beginnings.

When I look back, I realize that from a health perspective, this has been a difficult year for me. I have experienced, however, the reality that when the storms of life are raging, God is with us. So I give thanks to God for comforting me in the midst of my health challenges. God’s comfort has come in the presence of a caring spouse and family, a loving and praying church family, and the nurture of family and friends. The Holy Spirit has indeed been my comforter. Praise God!

Today (December 31, 20111) is my official retirement date. It has been my privilege and honor to serve in the ministry of the United Methodist Church since 1966. I am grateful for the opportunity that the church has given to me to serve as a local church pastor, a district superintendent and a bishop. I have met so many wonderful people along the way. These folk have inspired me, taught me, encouraged me and challenged me.

On the first day of this New Year, I will be in the retired status. The New Year will allow me the opportunity to revise my schedule. The first step in this direction was to revert back to a small pocket calendar, while putting aside the large calendar that has been at my side for so long. There will be a lot less space to fill in with things to do. Now that seems to me to be a good thing.

What does the ending of this year mark for you? Whatever the markers are, take comfort in knowing that this year coming indeed can be your New Year. I encourage you to grasp the New Year with joy and gratitude. Look for God’s fresh beginnings. Seize the opportunities that god gives to you.

I end this year with a heart full of gratitude and thanksgiving for God’s goodness and abundant mercy. Life is not about my way, but it is about God’s will. God grants to each one of us one day at a time. Through our pilgrim discipleship, God prepares us to live victoriously.

So, I pray that God will prepare us to receive God’s fresh beginnings in our life and enable us to engage in abundant living in the New Year.

Happy New Year! Amen.

Responses

  1. You have served faithfully, dear Bishop! Thank you for your leadership and for the wisdom you have given in your ministry. You have carried the light of Christ in many ways. It has been a privilege to have humbly served you.

    O God, surround Ernest with your holy presence, your healing, and strength. Thank you, O God, for his life, his ministry, and his service. Watch over him and Eleanor in the days, weeks, months to come.


Leave a Reply

Categories

