Posted by: morgan1965 | March 30, 2012

Sharing the Joy of Palm Sunday

When I was a child, I was intrigued by the notion of the triumphal entry of Jesus into Jerusalem. Each year we celebrate Palm Sunday or what some people refer to as Palm/Passion Sunday. Jesus was welcomed into the city by folk who threw palm branches and articles of clothing into the path that he traversed on the back of a donkey. On the surface it appeared to be a warm welcome, thus a triumphal entry. 

Palm Sunday, however, marks the beginning of our entry into Holy Week. Holy Week is a journey from triumph on a Sunday, to the cross and empty tomb on the following Sunday. The week is characterized by the Last Supper – foot washing, and Holy Communion; Good Friday – denial, death and burial; Easter Sunday – the empty tomb and resurrection. It was an emotionally charged week.

 For me, Holy Week is still a week that is freighted with emotion, feelings that have highs and lows. Yes, I always look forward to Palm Sunday, when I am reminded of God’s love and Jesus’ sacrifice. 

When I was a child, I did not have an understanding of all that would take place during Holy Week. I am growing in my understanding and I pray that God will grant me greater discernment. 

Jesus died on the cross for our sins. He died for you and me. Jesus suffered for the sake of the whole word. He died on a cross. It was a sad time in Jerusalem when they crucified Jesus. But God raised Jesus from death to life. Jesus left the tomb, and it was declared to be empty. 

Death never has the last word. Death cannot overpower God’s love as expressed in the love of Jesus for all of God’s children, you and me. It is love that brings new life. Learning to accept/receive God’s love enables the pilgrim disciple to live a more abundant life.

 When Jesus rode into Jerusalem, it was the steadfast love of God that could not be defeated. Jesus makes this love available to us. The fact of joy is that “Jesus loves me.” Jesus loves you and me! The Bible tells us so. 

I pray that Palm Sunday will be a time when we experience God’s abiding love in a meaningful way that enables us to share the joy. The world needs to hear about the joy of God’s love. Let’s find fresh ways to tell people about the love of Jesus, because it is Palm Sunday.

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

