Posted by: morgan1965 | January 4, 2013

The Joy of a New Year 2012

I am grateful to almighty God for the opportunity to experience the beginning of this New Year 2013. As I look back in review of the year 2012, my heart is filled with thanksgiving and joy.

I now have been retired from the active Episcopacy for one year. To be sure, there are some benefits. No longer do I maintain a three- year calendar. I only need to know what I am going to do today. I do not need to make promises to do things three years in advance. Wow, that is different.

No longer do I need to maintain an ample supply of suits, shirts and matching neckties. A sweat suit is usually the order of the day. There is no need to get “dressed up” all of the time, because I am relaxing and doing some of the things that are fun. My dry cleaning bill has dropped substantially as a result of dressing down. There are times now when I take some laundry to the cleaner shop and forget to pick it up on time. The fact of the matter is that whenever I pick it up, I will be right on time.

Now that I am retired, I do not miss all of the meetings. Minutes from meetings take up a lot of space. But, if I really need those minutes, I can go to the archives. I do not miss the extensive travel schedule. I really like waking up in the morning in my own bed at home. I do miss the wonderful people whom I encountered in my ministry. These folk were always a blessing to me.

I give thanks to God who continues to strengthen me from a health perspective. Wellness has been a challenge for the past couple of years; however, the prayers of God’s people have helped to bring me to a place of greater strength. I am a witness to the belief that there is power in prayer. Prayer continues to make a difference in my life.

Giving thanks leads to joy when we pause to realize just how good God has been to us. There have been times when I thought that I was experiencing a hard time. Now I realize that no matter how difficult life might have been for me, God was with me and God delivered me. Praise God from whom all blessings flow.

God has gifted us with a New Year that will be freighted with fresh opportunities. That is an abundant joy. I pray that God will help us to maintain an attitude of giving thanks and celebrating with joy in this New Year.

Leave a Reply

Categories

