Posted by: morgan1965 | January 16, 2014

The Beginning of A New Year

The beginning of a New Year is always a special time for me. I hope that the same is true for you. The first day, the first week and the first month of the New Year provide multiple signs of God’s fresh beginnings. The journey from Advent and Christmas to the New Year offers an opportunity for each pilgrim disciple to become immersed in a fresh beginning with God. I personally need this chance to get a fresh start, a new beginning with great opportunities.

God is waiting. God is ready. God is inviting each person to step into a fresh beginning with God. The critical question, perhaps, is this: Am I ready to walk with God in a new way in a new year?

During the recent Advent season, we spent time preparing a “reserved” place for Jesus in our lives. At Christmas time we welcomed Jesus into our lives with anticipation, joy and thanksgiving. In this New Year I want to keep the “junk” out of my life that clutters the way for God’s fresh beginnings in my life.

On the first day of the New Year 2014, I gave thanks to God that my life had been spared to witness the start of another year. I have fond memories of New Year’s Day in our family when I was growing up. In terms of family festivities, New Year’s Day was equivalent to Christmas Day. My mother’s family would visit our home at Christmas. My father’s family would visit us on New Year’s Day. It was celebration time.

On Christmas Day and New Year’s Day Mom would cook a delectable meal, with yeast rolls and a variety of homemade desserts. I enjoyed seeing our relatives, but I really did like all of the good food. Those two days were so special. Now that I am a more mature Christian, my focus is no longer on just seeing relatives and eating good food. I want to see Jesus. I want to experience Jesus in my life, bringing about needed changes and alterations.

Not only do I want to see Jesus, I want Jesus to view me in a new light as I strive to walk in the Light.

Will God see a new you in 2014?

Think about it!

Leave a Reply

Categories

