Posted by: morgan1965 | November 17, 2016

A Flawed President-elect In God’s Hand

The United States electorate cast our ballots to determine our 45th president on November 8, 2016. After a very contentious primary, the electorate chose one of the two flawed presidential candidates to become the president-elect.

Now that the election is over, we have president-elect Donald Trump, who is a flawed person. Even if we had elected Hillary Clinton, we would be faced with a flawed president-elect.

Trump supporters, of course, are delighted with the outcome of the election. Clinton supporters, on the other hand, are perhaps angry, or disappointed, or afraid or disenchanted. No matter the sentiment, Donald Trump is the president-elect; the election is over.

Numerous articles have outlined Donald Trump’s flaws, and media pundits have expounded upon his many flaws. For example, Mr. Trump seems to shun the truth when it conveniently amplifies his argument. He has manifested streaks of racism, and once was charged with racial discrimination in his housing units. When he slammed an American-born judge for his Mexican heritage, he manifested his bigotry.

There are examples of misogyny in Mr. Trumps life as manifested in the “Access Hollywood Tape.” He typed Hillary Clinton as a “nasty woman” while launching an endless attack upon a Gold Sar Mother and the Khan family. These are some of his more obvious flaws; perhaps there are others that you might want to include in your own list.

In a recent Facebook post, I made the following statement: “No matter who wins the 2016 presidential election, we have the blessed assurance that our Creator God still will be in charge. Our God is able. Our God dispenses justice, mercy, grace, peace and love.” This was my statement and I am sticking with it.

First, God is the potter. “Yet, O Lord, you are our Father; we are the clay, and you are the potter; we are all the work of your hand” (Isaiah 64:8). My prayer is that God will take our new president as a lump of flawed clay and shape him into a leader of all the people in this nation. At the same time, I am praying that God will shape me into a citizen who will support the new president when he is right and chastise him when he is wrong.

Second, Mr. Trump is our presidential leader now. Is he ready for the difficult and complex task of leadership that lies ahead of him? No, but neither was Moses. I pray that God will lead him, and he will follow, for God will lead him by day and by night. Donald Trump only has to follow. If Trump is to follow God’s leading, he will have to bury his ego, admit his errors and be open to learning new things and God’s way. God has a way of molding the clay because God is the potter.

The prophet Jeremiah describes the work of the potter and the clay. Jeremiah went down to the potter’s house where the potter was working at his wheel. The vessel that the potter was making was spoiled in the potter’s hand. The potter did not throw the spoiled clay away, but reworked it into a new vessel. “Then the word of the Lord came to me: Can I not do with you, O house of Israel, just as the potter has done? Says the Lord. Just like the clay in the potter’s hand, so are you in my hand, O house of Israel” (Jeremiah 18:5-6).

To be sure, God prepares leaders for leadership. Unless, the person resists and croons the words popularized by Dionne Warwick, “Don’t Make Me Over.” Consider these words:

“Don’t make me over.

Don’t pick on the things I say, the things I do

Just love me with all my faults

The way that I love you, I’m begging you.

Don’t make me over.”

In times like these, I am reminded of the hymn, “Have Thine Own Way, Lord.”

“Have thine own way, Lord! Have thine own way!

Thou art the potter; I am the clay.

Mold me and make me after thy will,

While I am waiting, yielded and still.”

This is my prayer.

Think about it! And start praying.

 

 

Responses

  1. This needs to be publicized broadly.

    • AMEN!


Leave a Reply

Categories

