Posted by: morgan1965 | May 13, 2017

A Tribute To My Mom On Mother’s Day 2017

It was a little past midnight on a Sunday when the telephone rang. My father was calling to tell me that my mother had died earlier in the night. I was stunned, because on Saturday I had just visited with her in the hospital where she was recovering from surgery. Her death was sudden and it took us by surprise.

I have fond memories of my mother. As we celebrate Mother’s Day 2017, I want to share some of those memories with thanksgiving. Mom was a constant presence in our lives as children (2 girls and 2 boys). She chose not to work outside of the home, because she wanted to care for her children and be supportive of our father who was a local church pastor in the Methodist Church. When we came home from school she was always there to greet us.

Mom would help me with my homework, especially the spelling lessons. In elementary school, I had difficulty with my spelling lessons, but Mom would patiently help me to get ready for the inevitable weekly spelling test. She helped me to learn to spell, and to pronounce words correctly. She also helped me to develop my reading skills.

I never needed much encouragement to eat the food that was placed before me. Perhaps I have always enjoyed food because Mom was an excellent cook. Whatever food she prepared, it always tasted good – fried chicken, succotash, yeast rolls, biscuits, sweet potato pie, potato salad, rice pudding and turkey stuffing, among other delicacies.

Mom was a charming, sweet lady. She taught me to be patient, polite and kind. It was her personal example that taught me these qualities. Although she was soft spoken, she was strong in her Christian faith and personal disciplines. Every day she would read the “Upper Room” devotional book and her bible. She was compassionate. I don’t remember her expressing anger.

My siblings and I did not know either one of our grandmothers, both of whom died before we were born. I am grateful that my mother lived to see all of her grandchildren (my two and my brother’s three children). Mom dearly loved her grandchildren. She even flew all the way to Hawaii to see her grandson who was born in the Marshall Islands. Now that was a big trip for her, the longest in her life.

When I was single, I asked my mother to give me some instructions on cooking. She gave me three principles: First, how should I season different food? Season food to your taste. Second, how do I determine the right cooking temperature? Always cook food slowly. Third, how do I know how long to cook my food? Cook your food until it is done. I have continued to follow these three basic tips over the years.

Mom spent a lot of time in her kitchen. It was there that I observed her cooking techniques. Also, I had many conversations with her in the kitchen, a wonderful place to listen, talk, and observe.

I am also thankful for the women, in addition to Mom who were a mother to me. Some of those women were my aunts, Aunt Sarah, Aunt Marie, and Aunt Gwendolyn. They provided nurture, encouragement and support along the way.

I am grateful for my mother, Attrue Virginia Logan Lyght, who helped me to reach my full potential as a human being. She was ever present in my life as a child, youth and young adult. Her spirit remains a positive presence in my life today. I thank God for her abiding love.

 

 

 

Responses

  1. Bishop Lyght, Thank you for your wonderful tribute to your mother. She must have been quite a woman! And thanks for remembering all of us who are mothers in any way to celebrate tomorrow. Carol Matteson Cox

  2. Thank you for sharing such fond memories of your wonderful mother whose gentle presence graced my parents’ home often. She was gracious and kind with a lovely smile! I shall always cherish our Sundays at Haven Methodist Church where we sang on the choir! Thanks for the memories…I shall read your tribute to my mother who was her dear friend! My mother turned 98 on May 6th. Sincerely,
    LoisYoungDenns


Leave a Reply

Categories

