Posted by: morgan1965 | December 21, 2022

‘Tis The Season

During the Christmas season, we often encounter the phrase, ‘tis the season in Christmas cards, Christmas carols and TV commercials. The origin of this phrase can be traced back to lyrics of the Christmas carol, Deck the Halls. One verse says, ‘Tis the season to be jolly. In the past, the phrase ‘tis was used as a conversational abbreviation for “it is.” 

Although it is not a biblical term, the phrase ‘tis the season serves as a means of expressing one’s sentiments about various aspects of the Christmas season as we celebrate the birth of Jesus. Some of the many experiences that we enjoy about the Christmas season are tree lighting ceremonies, hanging wreaths, Christmas lights, Christmas carols, live nativity scenes, candle lighting services, exchanging gifts, sending Christmas cards, writing Christmas letters, etc. These activities, however,  only occur during the Christmas season.

Christmas is about the Gift of Love, Jesus. The great reality is that Love came down at Christmas. God had great love for the world, so God sent God’s son into the world as a gift of love. Since last Christmas, there is a sense in which we have been waiting to celebrate again the birth of Jesus. Advent precedes Christmas and provides a period of time in which we prepare to receive Jesus into our hearts by making room for Jesus. Prepare him room.

When you make room for Jesus in your life, and you start hanging out with Jesus on a daily basis, something happens. In this Christmas season Jesus is at the center of our attention because of our expectation and our preparation. Consequently, one can say, ‘Tis the season to fall in love with Jesus.

When is the right time to fall in love with Jesus. Now is the right time. The words of Ecclesiastes 3:1 (NIV) are apropos here.

“There is a time for everything,

and a season for every activity under the heavens.”

When we realize how much Jesus loves us, it will change our relationship with Jesus.

In the bible, Mary Magdalene is portrayed as a faithful follower of Jesus. She was a witness to the crucifixion of Jesus. She is reported as announcing to the disciples, “I have seen the Lord” (John 20:18). In the musical, “Jesus Christ Superstar,” Mary Magdalene describes her relationship with Jesus.

“I don’t know how to love him.

What to do, how to move him.

I’ve been changed, yes really changed.

In these past few days, when I’ve seen myself,

I seem like someone else.

I don’t know how to take this.

I don’t see why he moves me.

He’s a man. He’s just a man.”

Mary Magdalene goes on to voice that Jesus frightens her, yet she confesses her love for him. But she seems confused by Jesus’ love for her. In actuality, it’s about falling in love with Jesus.

The song, “Falling in Love with Jesus” (Jonathan Butler lyrics) helps to shed some light on this spiritual sentiment.

          Falling in love with Jesus, falling in love with Jesus

          Falling in love with Jesus was the best thing I’ve ever done.

Why would this be the best thing you would ever do? Well,

          In His arms, I feel protected

          In His arms, never disconnected

          In His arms, I feel protected

          There’s no place I’d rather be.

Friends, ‘Tis the season to fall in love with Jesus.

A friend told our congregation about his recent exchange of greetings with a stranger. He asked the man, “How are you?” Listen to the man’s response: “Well, I am so glad you asked, and if I had three hours, I would tell you my life story, but I can sum it all up in two words, Jesus Christ. I had a troubled life before, but once I found Jesus Christ, everything has changed and I am GREAT now!” He had fallen in love with Jesus.

The founder of Methodism, John Wesley, who fell in love with Jesus placed a focus on Jesus’ commandment to love God, neighbor and self as basic to Christian discipleship. His “rule of life” was plain – do no harm, do good, and stay in love with God (attend to the ordinances of God).

Think About It!


Leave a comment

Categories